How did God create light?

HyperNova1_LGI had a group of 7 year olds in the church recently. They had come to see our baptistry and to hear why we baptize believers. After we had finished talking about that they were allowed to ask questions and the only one I didn’t have an answer for (this time anyway) was,

How did God create light?

I really dislike it when Christians give simplistic answers for things that are complex or unanswerable. ‘Why does God allow suffering?’ There are some helpful things we can say in relation to the question, but ultimately we just don’t know.

If we think we can explain everything about God then we are actually belittling him.

So what did I say? Simply I said that I didn’t know exactly how God created light other than he commanded it but that I am glad that God made light first or we would have all been bumping into each other. I went on to say that I have no idea how to describe the process by which God created light scientifically but I do believe that when he commanded it that it happened.

Science does help us to understand some things. For example, the picture in this post is showing a black hole forming and there is an explanation for what causes this.

‘When a massive star runs out of fuel, it no longer has the energy to support its mass. The core collapses and forms a black hole. Shockwaves bounce out and obliterate the outer shells of the star’ source.

Even if I can’t explain the how the black hole is created, I can still be in awe of its creation. I’m not scientific, but the awesomeness of this universe makes me believe that there is a God. Surely it is too complex to have been formed through randomness.

The black hole is formed because a star collapses (assuming I have understood the description anyway) but God started with nothing. God said ‘Let there be light’ and it was created out of nothing.

Doesn’t that leave you in awe of who God is?

To speak and by the authority and power of you words to end up with light or something created is amazing.

God is completely beyond our comprehension and that used to frustrate me but now it inspires me to worship and to live for God in a more passionate way.

God is so much greater than I am.

We are created in God’s likeness which means that we must all be creative too. We may not manage to create light or a planet, but we can all be creative in some way. It may be art or making things or it could be the way that we organize lots of different activities into a small period of time. Our creativity may be in the way we speck or write or it could be in creating computer programs. How are you creative?

How will you glorify God with your creativity today?

Picture By NASA/GSFC/Dana Berry [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Bible, Faith, Life experiences and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

