Jesus sent me an e-mail

e-mailI was in a meeting recently where someone said that Jesus sent them an e-mail.

This came as a quite a surprise to the rest of us because we didn’t know that God used e-mail. Does G-mail really stand for God-mail?

It turned out that the person had said ‘she sent me an e-mail’ and that some of us had just misheard.

I wonder if Jesus did send you an e-mail or a letter what he would say?

In Revelation 2-3 there are letters from Jesus to seven different churches and generally, the letters each cover these four areas.

Well done, you are doing these things well

Talk about ‘big brother is watching’! Jesus is with us always and he sees everything that we do. A reminder of this can cause some Christians to panic, especially if they don’t understand God’s grace. Although we do get things wrong sometimes, God still loves us.

If we instantly worry because Jesus is watching everything we do then perhaps we are being too hard on ourselves. If the Holy Spirit is in us and we are reading and trying to obey the Bible then we will be doing some things well. Sometimes the areas that discourage us the most are actually the very things that God wants to remind us we have done well in. For example, we may feel discouraged because we struggle with a difficult boss but if we stopped to analyse the situation we may realize that we treat him better than anyone else in the office because of the grace in our lives.

What are you doing well?

What things in your life glorify God?

If you are not sure, ask a good friend to tell you.

A challenge to do some things differently

Compromise is so easy. I once heard that a frog in cold water that is brought to the boil will die because the change is so gradual that it doesn’t realize it is in danger. In a similar way it is easy to be unaware of the areas of our life that we are living in a way that is contrary to God’s will.

I used to think I should work every hour for the church I was leading so that I could do more work for God. I thought I was pleasing God but he reminded me that he wants me to have a Sabbath day of rest each week.

Many years ago I wasn’t trying to care for the poor at all but then God showed me that he cares deeply for the poor and vulnerable and that when I care for or give to help to them that it is like me doing this for Jesus.

I used to think that Jesus would join me in what I was doing, that he was loving enough to bless and to be a part of my plans but God showed me that he is at work and that he wants me to join him in his plans.

What is God challenging you to do differently?

If you are not sure, ask a good friend to tell you.

A reminder to listen to the Holy Spirit

God wants to speak to us but are we listening?

I put my girls to bed recently and they were really loopy (it’s why I have so little hair left!) I tried all the usual warnings. You know the sort of thing, unless you go to bed you won’t have computer time, if you come out of your room there will be no TV etc but they weren’t paying attention to the warnings. The solution we found was to separate them and put one of the girls to sleep in my bed and then after she was asleep I carried her back through to her own room.

It’s hard when children reach the point of tuning out of what we are saying but are we any different with God? Sometimes we need to separate ourselves from the things that are distracting us so that we can focus on God.

What is God saying to you? Take some time to listen.

If you can’t hear clearly, ask a good friend to listen as well.

A reminder of the blessings to come

The letters finish with a promise of a blessing to come, such as that we will sit on God’s throne with him or that we will eat fruit from the tree of life. These promises just seem a little weird if we don’t understand their Biblical background but even if we don’t understand all the intricacies of them it is obvious that they are good.

One of the promises is about a white stone with a new name (told you they seem weird!)  and you can read more about what this might mean here.

There are so many blessings in persevering in our faith. Which blessing does Jesus want to remind you of or teach you about?

If you can’t hear clearly, ask a good friend to listen as well.

I hope thinking about these questions and listening to God really encourages and challenges you.

God wants to speak to us, but will we listen?

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Bible, Faith, Life experiences, Listening to God, Relationship with God and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jesus sent me an e-mail

  1. Pingback: The One Where I Felt Hopeless | Honest about my faith

Leave a Reply

