Did she say pray time?

My daughter has recently started a new school and she is really enjoying it. Thanks to all of you who have been praying for her, it has really been appreciated.

My daughter writes a diary every day and it is quite interesting to see what she has enjoyed in her day. DSCF0374This is what she wrote a day or two ago and you will notice the emphasis  on what she found easy, on playing and on eating lunch.

As I read this great work of literature I did have to do a double take on the middle line which I read as ‘pray time’.

As I have mulled this over, I have found it very challenging.

Am I as passionate about prayer as my daughter is about play?

If I have a what I enjoyed about my day thought, does prayer feature in it?

I believe that prayer is an ongoing conversation with God throughout the day but is this a priority and a focus consistently in my life or is it something I get right sometimes?

Is it a priority in terms of me making extra time to talk with and listen to God in some space as well as just talking in amongst my everyday life?

God is with us always and yet sometimes we ignore him. He understands and I’m sure he doesn’t take it personally but surely it must be irritating. Thankfully God’s love is overwhelming and everlasting and so we can always turn to him without worrying that he might have gone off in a huff.

Who better is there to talk to?

God is almighty and all-powerful, he knows everything, he loves us and wants what is best for us and he longs for us to find fulfilment in life.

Will you have pray time today?

If you want to think more about what sort of things to talk with God about then you might find it helpful to read ‘It’s good to pray‘.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, Life experiences, Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

