The roadworks that made my journey easier

Don’t you hate roadworks?

The county council have decided to do some roadworks right in the middle of what has been the most congested area that I drive my son through each day.

roadworks colchester near north station1I was a bit annoyed when I heard about this but the bizarre thing is that for the past few weeks since the roadworks have been in place my journey time has actually been much quicker. This picture was taken at 7.40am when a week or two before the traffic would have been gridlocked.

You see, the roadworks are only in place between 9.30am and 3pm and they have had such negative press that I think people are avoiding the area completely. I have been driving through just before 8am and around 5.30pm and rather than sitting in traffic as I have done for the past few months I have been driving through this stretch without having to stop.

roadworks colchester near north stationThis has all made me wonder what things in life we are not giving a proper chance to? I was annoyed, but at the moment my life is better off.

There aren’t many people who like change but we need to be open to giving things a go.

I feel sad when Christians and churches are resistant to change, especially when God says to his people ‘I am doing a new thing’. God wants to work in new ways in all of our lives, but are we open to that  

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in change, Faith, Life experiences and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

