You’ll never guess what I found between the pages of a Bible?

IMAG0804I was sitting in church and I noticed that the Bible in front of me had something stuck in it. It looked like a pen or pencil had been left in it but when I opened it up I was surprised by what I found.

Before I explain what it was I need to confess that I have had a long week and I am feeling fairly worn down. We have a heavy cold going around our house and we have also had several other things go wrong this week. There is nothing majorly wrong but sometimes lots of little things accumulate to drag us down.

Do you ever feel like that or is it just me?

IMAG0805So, back to the Bible. I opened it up and inside I found a small candle that had nearly burnt down. The candle had clearly provided light for some time and if re-lit it was not going to burn for much longer.

I feel like this candle at the moment and I was struck by the significance of it being in a Bible.

You see, if the candle relies on itself and this one is all but finished but if it has another source then its life can go on and its light can shine.

The Bible reminds me of God who is holding me and who longs to renew me.

Jesus is the light of the world but he also tells us that we are the light of the world. If we shine with our own light and in our own power then we will burn out but if we allow his light to shine through us then we can shine consistently and more brightly.

‘Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path. I thank God that he is leading me and giving me hope’ Psalm 119.105.

I thank God that he has not left us alone in this dark and draining world. He has given us the light of his word (the Bible) and presence. The Bible gives us the truth to guide us through the world and his presence can restore, renew and shine through us.

May we learn to rely on God more!

Psalm 119.105 word is a lamp and a light

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Bible, Faith, Life experiences, Relationship with God, restoration and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You’ll never guess what I found between the pages of a Bible?

  1. atimetoshare says:

    What beautiful imagery. God had someone place that candle in the Bible just for you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

