Better safe than sorry?

facebook privacy funnyThere is a hoax circulating on Facebook that starts with the words ‘better safe than sorry’. It goes on to provide a lengthy disclaimer that we are told to copy and paste because apparently just sharing it won’t work. I’ve posted the full text below in case you have been lucky enough to miss it.

I have to be honest, it amazes me what people will post on the internet without checking if it is true. It is relatively easy to type something into a search engine and to find out more about it. If you are not into that much research then you can also watch this funny video which explains how irrelevant many of the terms in the disclaimer are.

It also surprises me that people really believe that what we post on facebook can be private. Even with privacy settings set to maximum, there are circumstances by which that information can become public. People have lost their jobs and relationships have been damaged and destroyed through what has been posted on Facebook so lets be more careful about what we post.

The hoax is fairly harmless as far as I can see but what does make it sad about it is that it uses fear to drive us to do something that we otherwise wouldn’t do. Fear will damage and destroy life and this is why ‘do not be afraid’ is one of the most repeated phrases in the Bible. God doesn’t want us to live in fear and to make bad choices as a result, he wants us to live a fulfilled life

What is driving us? What are we depending on for truth and guidance through life?

I thank God that he is with us always and that he has given us the Bible to show us what is true.

The text of the hoax:

Better safe than sorry. As of January 5th, 2015 at 11.38 a.m. Eastern standard time, I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, or posts, both past and future. By this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. DO NOT SHARE. You MUST copy and paste.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Being honest about our faith, Bible, Faith, God is with us, Life experiences and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Better safe than sorry?

  1. Lorraine Corrie says:

    Hi Graeme i hope you and the family are well and have had a good Christmas. We thought of you all as we drove passed the church on our way to Mersea with friends over Christmas. If you’re all ever back this way and fancy meeting up for some geocaching. Please let us know apparently there are a few around this area. It would be great to see you all. I’m glad you mentioned this hoax. I was quite surprised at how many people I know we’re taken in by it. My daughter Libby has just recently joined Facebook and we have an agreement that she checks everything with me before posting or sharing. She asked me about the message as so many of her friends had shared it. So we did some research into channel 13 who were posting the story and found it to be a hoax. It made me think I’m not sure where it is but in the new testament somewhere I know it says something like “Do not trust every word you hear but test everything, there are many falses teachers around” Now more than ever we should be on our guard. We are such sheep so easily lead! Happy new year to you, Tracey & the children. Blessings L

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good to hear form you. I’ll bear the geocaching in mind, we have got our eye on a series of cache’s in Cockfield that look good but I’m not sure when we will get around to them 😦

      1 Thess 5.21 does tell us to test everything and only to hold on to what is good and we do need to be aware of what the Bible says so we can hold only to God’ good will.

      Happy new year to you all!!!

      Like

  2. atimetoshare says:

    I saw this on FB and wondered about it, but I also feel if we are saying the right things there, we shouldn’t have a problem. I think it’s another tool we can use to share God’s word with others.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

