Getting down again can’t be that hard can it?

IMAG0482So my wife climbed a 15ft tree (I don’t think it was just to get away from me!) She got to the top easily but then she realized that she was going to struggle to get down.

We were geocaching and the cache was called ‘don’t look down’ for a very good reason. Tracey had got up the tree without problems and had found the cache but as she began to think about coming down she realized she had a problem.

When you go up, you can see where to reach out to put your hands and feet, but when you are coming down you can’t see so well where to put your feet.

You may wonder why I wasn’t up the tree and there are a number of reasons why.

1. I believe in equal opportunities (especially where they involve other people climbing trees instead of me!)

2. My wife is naturally adventurous, I don’t think I could have stopped her from making the climb.

3. I’m really scared of heights.

IMAG0474I wasn’t up the tree, but I did have a good viewpoint to help guide Tracey down. She couldn’t see where to put her feet but I could tell her. I think Tracey was a little afraid (most of us would have been very afraid) but as I guided her she grew increasingly confident.

She was about half way down when she had to stretch a leg down towards the next branch that she couldn’t see. She had stretched but couldn’t quite reach and in the end she had to shift her weight to lean towards the branch she couldn’t see. If I had lied and the branch wasn’t there then she would have reached the ground a lot quicker than she had planned. Because Tracey trusted me to guide her, she came down quickly and safely.

When we are living life and things feel a bit scary, it is good to remember that God is with us always and that he will guide if we let him. He has a great perspective on where we are and what is happening and he is therefore in the best place to guide us.

Will we trust in God or are we too afraid to step out?

Trust in the Lord with all your heart;
    do not depend on your own understanding.
Seek his will in all you do,
    and he will show you which path to take branch to stand on. (Proverbs 3.5-6)

How will you trust God to guide and lead you today?

Are we willing to step out and trust him as he leads us forwards?

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Bible, Faith, Life experiences, trust and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting down again can’t be that hard can it?

  1. Ian Ross says:

    Graeme I really enjoyed read this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

