Turn around when possible

turn around when possibleSo I was sat in the car on top of a cliff, I plugged the satnav in and it said those words that satnav’s seem to delight in saying.

‘Turn around when possible’.

The only problem was that behind me was the cliff edge and so to turn around wouldn’t have been too clever. I’m glad (and hopefully you are too) that I chose not to follow the instructions and plunge to my death.

It reminded me of one of my teachers at school who, whenever anyone was being easily led,  would say ‘If someone told you to jump off a cliff would you?’

Who are we listening to in life? Who or what is guiding us through? It’s easy for a Christian to say God, but do we know what he teaches or his will is about particular situations? How familiar are we with the Bible? We say we obey God, but do we in reality?

Think about how you lived yesterday or over the past week. In what way were your choices and way of living made in obedience to God?

The satnav was really saying to me, I’m confused, I don’t know where I am, there is no road here (we were parked in a field). It couldn’t express itself in any other way other than to say ‘turn around when possible’ but this didn’t matter because I had the intelligence to understand that it was just in a muddle.

Often when I pray I feel like I am not able to express the depth of what I am feeling but this doesn’t matter because I am praying to God who knows and understands me. God knows me inside out, much better than I know myself. God knows what I am thinking and how I am feeling, so being expressive or articulate in prayer is irrelevant.

The next time that you feel that you are praying the equivalent of ‘turn around when possible’, be encouraged that God knows your heart and what you are asking.

Remember,

It’s good to talk.

May we learn to listen to and be led by God and may we talk with him in prayer often.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, God is with us, Life experiences, Listening to God, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

