Make your own Christ?

make your own christI opened up my laptop and this is what I saw amongst the list of e-mails.

I couldn’t get over the phrase ‘Make your own Christ’ (it actually reads ‘make your own Christmas …’). Strangely, a sales rep from Serif called a short time later and so I asked him why they had sent me an e-mail saying ‘Make your own Christ’, it’s always good to unsettle telesales people before they can get into their script!

Do we want to follow the real Jesus or a watered down version of him who we have invented? Anyone who says that Jesus is gentle meek and mild has not read a gospel recently. The problem is that some people talk about what Jesus did and said from memory rather than opening the Bible and reading from there about what really happened.

Can we all read a gospel in these next few days and remind ourselves who Jesus really is?

Jesus was so scandalous and shocking that on one occasion everyone left him apart from his 12 closest followers (John 6 v66). Jesus’ teaching made people uncomfortable in contrast to the consumerist centred nature of what is taught or implied in some churches. You see, Jesus loves the whole world and not just you but we are taught differently. In the song ‘Above all’ there is the bit that says that when Jesus died that ‘he thought of me, above all’. It’s a lovely and sentimental song that reinforces the belief that we are the centre of Christ’s universe. That Jesus does everything for me, that he wants me to feel special, that his mission is to make me feel comfortable because that is what besties do.

Jesus said that following him would be hard (like carrying a heavy wooden cross) but his words have been twisted into a gospel of comfort. I don’t want to ‘make my own Christ’, I want to find and follow the real Jesus.

You can read more about this in one of my other posts, Jesus said something but I couldn’t remember what or better still, read a gospel and discover Jesus for yourself.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in consumerism, discipleship, Faith, Jesus, Life experiences and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

