Are we too busy for what really matters?

busyThis is a blog about those moments when we have too much to do. It’s a reflection on what opportunities and blessings we may miss out on when we run around like headless chickens.

I’m having a busy time this week. We’ve been spending some time with my wonderful in-laws who are in the area and I have been doing bits of work as well.

On Monday we went geocaching and we found 18! We had a really great day.

On Tuesday we showed a film at the church for local families who were looking for a free and fun activity. In the afternoon I trawled through some e-mails and got ready to speak at the Essex university CU which is where I was in the evening. You can read about that here.

The plan was to take Wednesday off  for some more geocaching, and then for me to work today which would involve me preparing for and leading a service this afternoon as well as putting a Sunday service and sermon together. The plan changed because my father in law is helping us with some jobs, he’s called Bob and he really can fix it! So I ended up heading to the office yesterday morning to do my sermon and service preparation. To prepare two services in a morning is a bit ambitious even for me but the themes of both are fairly straight forward so I knew it could work.

So I arrived at church with the service themes bouncing around inside my brain, I was raring to go when someone asked me for help. They needed some help with the church computer which I was glad to do partly because I knew it wouldn’t take long. As I finished and walked towards my office, a visitor to the club that was running in the church began to talk with me about a family difficulty. My mind was buzzing with the theme of needing God’s peace instead of anxiety (how ironic is that!) and this person is talking about what really matters to them. What do you do? I managed to disengage the buzzing in my mind and I listened and we talked. Some time later I began to head towards the office again when someone else at the club asked me what was under the piece of floor that has handles on. I’m always tempted to say that it is where we keep the naughty children but instead I explained it was a baptistry and opened it up for them to have a look. We talked about the fact that a baptism of someone who has chosen to follow Jesus symbolizes cleansing from sin and a new start in life.  Eventually I got to the office and read the Bible passages and went to work. At the end of a productive morning, I was 5 minutes late home for lunch (oops), but both services are planned in outline and the other people involved had been communicated with.

I stopped to make time for what was important at a time when I was really busy. People were blessed and God helped me to get a lot of preparation done in a short period of time. God is good!

How about you?

How busy do you feel?

Could you make time to stop for something that was really important?

As I read the gospels, one of the things that strikes me about Jesus is his willingness to turn away from a crowd to spend time with an individual. At times he turned away from a seemingly more effective way of work where he was ministering to lots of people at once in order to make time for an individual who was really in need. Jesus inspires me and I want to be like him.

As we live our lives, can we slow down and make space for what is important?

As we live our lives, can we take time to listen to people? Can we meet with the people who we encounter each day, rather than just existing in the same space as them?

As we live our lives, can we take time to listen to God for his leading? Jesus was led by God his Father and so the way he lived and acted was radically different. Will we listen to and be led by God in our everyday lives or are we too busy?

busy

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, Jesus, Life experiences, Life in all it's fullness, Listening to God, time and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

