Do you remember me?

homer rememberSo, I was in Harwich. I had never been there before which made it really strange that a girl came up to me in the street and said ‘do you remember me?’ Apparently, she had been in one of the schools in Colchester where I visit sometimes to talk in assemblies.

It was unusual conversation, because kids will sometimes say they recognize me (or that they think they recognize me) but this was the first time I can ever remember (but perhaps it has happened before and I forgot!) anyone asking if I remembered them. The school she was at has 240 children and there is very little chance of me knowing or remembering all of the children individually a few years down the line.

I can’t remember everyone I see in a crowd but God can.

The girl told me her name and I can remember it now a day or two on, but God knew her before I met her and he knows everything about her. WOW!

One of the reasons I follow and worship God is because he is so awesome and powerful. God knows everyone, he remembers us and hears us when we call on him. I find it hard to comprehend how that is possible but with God I believe that it is.

God remembers you. He loves you so much and he wants to be involved in your life.

How will we respond?

What difference will it make to you today knowing that God knows and remembers you?

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, Life experiences, Power of God, Relationship with God and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do you remember me?

  1. Lorraine Corrie says:

    Hi Graeme I read this and thought how wonderful that God placed you there at that moment so she would see you and remember. She recognised you so hopefully she will have remembered what you spoke about during assembly, maybe seeing you may has triggered something and she could well be searching for Jesus and questioning does God exist. After all most teenagers don’t bother to speak to us ‘old folks’. I will pray for her. I think God just put you both there at that moment so you would meet. He is so awesome. I was thinking of a verse but can’t think exactly what it is or where it is but its something like God is in the detail, and wants to be in every part of our lives. Hope you have a good week. I’ve been sharing your blog with many friends at our ladies bible study and some are now reading it regularly. We loved the “Remember, you are not a salmon” a friend came up to me on Sunday, laughing, quoting this. God bless x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It happened to me a while back, but it was about 6 years later. I happened to go back to the town where I first ministered and went to Sainsbury’s. There were lots of available checkouts and I happened to choose the one where a girl was serving who had been a student at a school I used to visit and who remembered me! God has a remarkable way of putting us in the right place at the right time and he doesn’t waste anything does he – even shopping in Sainsbury’s or a visit to Harwich!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

