The Blinking Cyclist

blinking cyclistAs I drove around the corner the cyclist was making blinking signals at me with his hands. I think he may have been saying why wasn’t I indicating but he may also have been doing the actions to twinkle, twinkle little star.

This photo shows where this happened and I have even inserted a cartoon cyclist (ooh aren’t I clever!) so you can see where the blinking took place.

So, I was about to turn left into the road and so I indicated to turn left. The roundabout was full of cars and so I had to manoeuvre to the left of a car to get towards the turning as I straightened up near the road I was turning into, the indicator turned itself off. (This happened when I was about a car length in front of where the white car is in the photo). I felt bad that the cyclist thought I hadn’t indicated until I realized that he had set off into the road without even looking and so whether I was indicating or not was irrelevant.

The blinking cyclist was sure I was in the wrong, but on this occasion I wasn’t. It’s funny how easily we blame others without thinking things through. We can spend our lives convinced that the problem is with everyone else and if we have this attitude then we never learn everything. The sooner we accept that we are human (yes, you really are) and that as a result we make mistakes the better. If we have this attitude then we can learn and grow and as a consequence we will make fewer mistakes.

I was watching the cyclist and saw him coming and so an accident was averted. It’s obvious that we need to watch carefully what is going on around us as we drive on or cross roads, but it is also important in our everyday lives. Think about some people who you have spent time with recently. How are they? What is going on in their lives? When we were with them were we aware of them or were we just wrapped up in our own little world?

As we travel through life today, may we be aware of what is going on around us and may we be willing to admit when we get things wrong so that we can learn from those mistakes.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, Life experiences and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Blinking Cyclist

  1. I can see both sides of this one. Car drivers often fail to indicate left before exiting a roundabout, and the cyclist may well be hypersensitive to this failing and have blamed Graeme without observing his indicator (before it self-cancelled). However, I’ve also been a cyclist and a pedestrian trying to cross an exit road, and there’s no doubt that some drivers expect you to know their intentions by telepathy. The key point for me is the disparity in power: the cyclist or pedestrian is vulnerable, and most drivers are unaware how frightening their progress can be.

    Like

    • That also adds to the point about being aware of what is going on around us by reminding us that we should also be courteous and communicate well with people. I do think that cyclists are generally better road users than drivers (out of self preservation if nothing else!)

      Like

  2. Pingback: The Blinking God | Honest about my faith

  3. Paul says:

    Hi, When the indicator turned itself off, you should of put it back on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

