The one where I forgot the car

forgot keys funnyI felt like an idiot as my daughter asked ‘why aren’t we taking the car’?

Rewind 30 minutes. I was going to be late getting my daughter to school and so we jumped into the car (actually we stepped into it). We parked near the school, ran cross the road and arrived just a few minutes late. My little girl ran in, but then came back to kiss me goodbye (she is only 5 I’m sure it will wear off) and then she ran in again. I grabbed my daughter’s hand (no, not the one who had gone to school, the other one) and we set off up the road towards the Church which I needed to unlock for our toddler group. We came out of the school and we hurried past the place where I had parked the car and that is when my daughter said ‘why aren’t we taking the car’?

We turned back and crossed the road and as we did, the lollipop lady said she was surprised we had walked off without the car. In my defence, the school is a little less than a mile from our house and so I rarely drive there and most days I walk to church following the school run walk. As we had walked in and out of the school I had said hello to and talked to several people and my mind was full of these conversations and habit and routine just took over. I didn’t feel especially clever as I got into the car, but how much worse might it have been if my daughter had said nothing.

Towards the end of his life on the Earth, Jesus promised that when he was no longer physically here that his father would send the Holy Spirit (John 14.16). He described the Holy spirit as another comforter/counsellor/advocate. The word ‘another’ tells us that the Holy Spirit’s role is to be the person that Jesus had been for the disciples such as to be with, lead, teach and inspire them. The Greek word (the new testament was written in Greek) translated ‘counsellor’ is paraclete and it literally means ‘someone who comes alongside to help’. The Holy Spirit is given to guide us through life, to show us more clearly who God is, to help us see who God made us to be and to inspire equip and help us to become that person.

I was rushing around and I forgot my car. I was too busy and in too much of a hurry to think clearly but my daughter (who was alongside me) reminded me about the car. The Holy Spirit is with us and he is speaking, and trying to guide us but are we too busy to be hear and be led?

If the Holy Spirit is sent to walk alongside and help you, how will you rely on him today? Don’t worry, he is more reliable than my daughter.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, God is with us, Holy Spirit, Life experiences and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The one where I forgot the car

  1. Pingback: How do you keep left and then stay in the right hand lane??? | Honest about my faith

Leave a Reply

