If life is a journey who are we travelling with?

go fast go alone far go together lord of the rings

Yesterday I caught up with a friend who I haven’t seen for a few years. He has been a great support to me and I value his friendship, so why has it taken us so long to meet up? I think this is partly a bloke thing, but it is sad the way that sometimes we don’t make the time to invest in friendships in the way that we should.

If life is a journey, who are we travelling with?

In Lord of the Rings, Frodo is traveling to Mount Doom to destroy the ring (dun dun dunnnn!!!) At the end of the first book/film, Frodo is heading off alone because he doesn’t want to endanger his friends. Sam figures out what is happening and frantically chases after him because he isn’t willing to let his friend travel on alone. As he arrives on the shore, i'm coming with you lord of the ringsFrodo is already in the boat heading away but Sam wades into the water to catch him. This is astonishing because Sam can’t swim but he is so desperate to journey with his friend that he goes anyway. We hear how much he cares for his friend as he splutters ‘I made a promise’ just after Frodo pulls him out of the water and into the boat. The scene leaves us in no doubt as to how much Sam is committed to Frodo and they both appear happy as they paddle on in their boat continuing their journey together. If you haven’t seen it and you would like to, you can watch the scene here:

If you want to go fast, go alone. If you want to go far, go together. African Proverb

Frodo tries to travel alone but by the end of the story we find that he has only been successful because he travelled with Sam. This is the power of companionship and journeying together. The Bible (and Lord of the Rings) calls it fellowship. Fellowship is more than just being together when it suits us, it involves a commitment at a deeper level and this is something that we all need in life. In the end, Sam saves Frodo and together they succeed where one of them alone would have failed.

Today I am going on a 16 mile walk with the members of the CYO team. I am a trustee of this charity that works in the schools in Colchester and it is great being involved but I don’t know all of the team members very well. I am really looking forward to walking with the team in order to get to know them better. As we walk we will have time to talk and as a result I’m hoping to be able to be a greater support and encouragement to them in the future.

CakesWe really do need each other. As I am writing this post I have had to stop because someone knocked on my door to give me some cakes to thank me for something I had done to help them. It’s great when people act in such a kind and considerate way and I certainly didn’t mind being interrupted. There is always space for cake in our house!

I had to stop again a short while later because a friend of mine had a moving house emergency (no, he isn’t trying to move further away from me). He needed to move more than he had capacity for so I emptied out our bouncy castle trailer and went to help. I had to stop writing about how we need each other in order to go and help someone. It would have been ironic if I had told him I was too busy to help! Everyone needs help and I certainly didn’t mind being interrupted to help someone in need.

If life is a journey, who are we travelling with?

For those of us who instinctively work alone because it can be quicker and more effective in the short-term, my prayer is that we would learn to journey with and rely on those around us.

For those of us who hate doing things alone, my prayer is that we would learn to journey with others well by pulling our weight, going the extra mile to help and also relying on others rather than feeling we need to always be the strong one.

Life is a journey, may we choose to journey well with others.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, film, Life experiences, Loving one another, working together and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

