Piano moving, a dolly and learning to rely on God

IMAG0202We recently decided to buy a Piano and we were pleased to get a good quality one on Ebay for £16. We were really over the moon with our bargain until the seller asked us how we were going to move it.

This isn’t as bad as it sounds. Before bidding we measured to make sure it would fit into our trailer but we hadn’t thought about how heavy it would be and how we would lift it to and into the trailer.

The seller didn’t want us to roll the piano across his floor on its own wheels in case they scratched his laminate flooring. I know that I look incredibly athletic and muscular but it’s an illusion and my wife and I didn’t think we could move it very far carrying it between us.

I began contacting companies for quotes to get someone to move it for us but these were all very expensive. As I looked on one website that described the care that the particular company would take of our precious and expensive???!!!  piano, I found the answer.

IMAG0206They talked about a dolly that they use to move pianos. A quick internet search later and I arranged to hire a piano dolly for the next day. (We took this picture of a dolly on the dolly and both she and my daughters enjoyed playing with this oversized skateboard).

As we lifted the piano onto the dolly I was so glad I had spent the £13 hiring it. The piano is incredibly heavy but on the dolly we moved it effortlessly. I wish I had taken photos of us moving the piano because it was so funny, Tracey and I will definitely never start a removal company! Lifting and steering took too much concentration for me to consider stopping to take a picture.

Moving the piano would have been almost impossible by ourselves, but the dolly made it relatively easy. Later that day it occurred to me that this is a really good analogy of how we can try to live our life without God. There is so much we can struggle to do in our own strength when the almighty God wants us to talk to him and invite him to help us.

You don’t have what you want because you don’t ask God for it. (James 4.2)

When we struggle, God longs for us to talk with him and to ask him for help. Like people trying to move a heavy piano when there is a dolly nearby, we can live our lives struggling in our own strength whilst we are constantly in the presence of God. Whilst we need to rely on his strength and power, we also need to concentrate and focus on our partnership with him as he leads us through life.

When we don’t ask God for help or when we doubt that God can make a difference then it means that we probably don’t have a good and healthy understanding of who God is. A loving parent feels pain when they aren’t called upon by their children who are finding things hard. When we try to mange alone I believe that it breaks God’s heart.

Next time you catch yourself struggling and you haven’t asked God for help, why not pause and ask for God’s forgiveness for trying to cope alone. Then you can call on him to help you, asking him change things and expecting him to make a difference. Sometimes God changes the situation miraculously and other times he is at work changing us in the difficulties we face. Either way, my hope is that we will trust in and rely on God more!

psalm 46.1

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in discipleship, Faith, Life experiences, Prayer, Relationship with God, trust and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Piano moving, a dolly and learning to rely on God

  1. Fred Summers says:

    What a great story. I’ve moved a few pianos in my time and I’ve done it the hard way, (I think there were 6 guys) and the easy way. Its much easier to find another solution and how you related the story shows one such application.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

