Jesus Surprised me but I didn’t realize it

shockI’ve been reading the gospels a lot recently and as a result I’ve realized that my expectations of Jesus in amongst the busyness of my everyday life are often too low.  If something goes wrong and I need help I have great expectations of God but in the ordinary hustle and bustle of life I’m often just getting on with things myself.

Jesus had the ability to surprise people through a miracle or through something that he taught. People were living their ordinary lives and they had a Jesus encounter and they were left looking surprised like the child in this picture. As you know if you read my blog I am a great believer in being honest about my faith but I’ve been praying that my faith would overflow more during my everyday life. I’ve been praying that Jesus would surprise me more often in the way that he did in the gospels. I’ve been praying that I would be more focused on God in everything that I do.

I was spending some time recently with a group of people, most of whom don’t know Jesus yet. I was praying for opportunities to talk about my faith and was expecting this to happen at some point in our time together but it didn’t. I was talking about this with some of my friends after we had finished tidying up. I was glad to have had good general conversations with people. Some people felt listened to, I had shared advice with others for which they appeared grateful and I also had a lot of fun chatting with people! These things are all great but I am praying for Jesus to surprise me more. As I was expressing disappointment with this having not happened in our time together someone came in and as we talked she began to cry (I don’t think it was anything I said!) She shared about a personal situation that was upsetting her and my friends and I prayed with her that she would receive God’s gift of peace (you can read about that gift here).

I was expressing disappointment that Jesus didn’t surprise me and then he did. The really ironic thing is it only dawned on me later on that my prayer to be surprised had been answered. SURPRISE!! Jesus did something completely unexpected and I reacted by being honest about how Jesus can make a difference and praying for someone. I didn’t try to be super spiritual, I was just me or rather I was being the me that Jesus is helping me to be.

God is at work all the time and in all kinds of ways. He doesn’t need me but he chooses to work with me, through me and even in spite of me. I’m praying that Jesus would surprise me more and that I would learn what it is to join with him in his work in my everyday life.

ephesians 3.20

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Being honest about our faith, Blessed to be a blessing, Faith, Jesus, Life experiences and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

