The one where I was in the wrong queue

queueYesterday I was at a fun day and I was stood in a long queue waiting to get a drink. A friend of mine came over and said to me, ‘do you know that you are standing in the face painting queue?’ The line was so long and full that it was blocking the view of the face painters who were next to the tea tent.

This experience was ironic because I hate queuing and so I almost always check the head of the queue to make sure I am standing in the right line. I felt like a bit of a wally and was very grateful to the friend who had pointed out that I was in the wrong line. The only thing that made me feel a little better was that people in the queue around me followed me over to the correct line which was almost non-existent. Several of us were standing in the wrong line and we had no idea.

I hope that my funny story inspires you to speak up when you see someone who is not aware of something that is going on around them. I’m not talking about giving opinions or being bossy I mean stating the obvious. When people are in the wrong queue or someone is at a bus stop that is no longer in use etc.

I recently saw someone in their car with an electrical cable and plug hanging out of the bottom of their door. They were at a junction and so I tapped on the window and told the driver. Once she had got over the shock of a very strange man knocking on her window and realized what was happening, she was so grateful. The plug would have been smashed on the journey if I had said nothing but I had to take a small risk to help her.

Earlier on at the fun day I had stood in a queue for a burger. It was a really long line but the quality of food made me feel better about the wait. What are we heading towards in life? What are we living for, do we have any idea? When you are standing in a long queue you have to be motivated to want what is at the end.

I am honest about my faith and you all know that Jesus is central to my life. I am living for him because he is at work in my life and in following him I have found fulfilment and a promise of a genuine relationship with him now and forever. Jesus gave his life on the cross to save us and to open up the way for us to know God. I am motivated to live for Jesus because of all he has done and is doing for me.

At the fun day, a team from Orchard was running a Kerplunk stall which is fun as well as an opportunity for people to think about what supports us in life. We rely on so many things and people and when things are tough they keep us going. I thank God for the people who support me and especially for the person who told me I was in the wrong queue. Most of all I thank God for the way he supports me and leads me through life.

C.T. Studd was a England Cricket player who gave up his career and travelled to China as a missionary in 1885. Whilst he was there he inherited a large sum of money which he gave away. His choices seemed odd to people who have no faith but this is what he said about that,

If Jesus Christ be God and died for me, then no sacrifice can be too great for me to make for Him

This man knew where he was going and what he was living for. He understood all that Jesus had done and was doing for him. As a consequence he was willing to give his all for God. Definitely a worthwhile way to live your life!

ct studd quote if jesus be God

Image source: http://izquotes.com/quote/351961

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Being honest about our faith, Faith, Life experiences, Life in all it's fullness, Saved by Jesus and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The one where I was in the wrong queue

  1. Pingback: The One Where I Felt Hopeless | Honest about my faith

Leave a Reply

