The one about missing the bus

chasing bus peter parkerWe were just in time but the bus had left a few minutes early, so my son missed it. As a result I had to drive him on the 55 mile round trip to his college. How should I feel?

Should I be angry with the bus driver who left early?

Should I be angry with the local council who were doing roadworks which meant that I was a little late driving across town to drop him at the bus stop?

Should I be frustrated with myself for trying to be too clever? My improvised route around the roadworks ended in a bus lane and so I had to turn back. Apparently it sometimes is quicker to wait in the queue of traffic!

The truth is that I have a right to be frustrated with the bus company but I also have a responsibility to be in good time. When things go wrong, is our natural instinct to blame others or to ask questions of ourselves? Is the problem always with other people or will we admit we are imperfect? Whilst the natural instinct of many of us is to blame others, we can also have the opposite problem where we assume everything is our fault. Both ways of thinking are wrong and will cause damage to our lives as we never confront the real issues or resolve things. As we think about things that have gone wrong, let’s be honest with ourselves and deal with the real problems which may include us and our behaviour.

This happened yesterday and so we left earlier this morning to get to the bus stop. The roadworks were gone and I didn’t try to go down any bus lanes. There was significantly less traffic and I was quicker driving across town and back than I ever have been before. Instead of blaming the bus driver, I chose to take responsibility and my choice to leave a little earlier may mean I have discovered how to have a quieter and less stressful time driving across town and back each day.

Yesterday several things went wrong and a lot of stressful things happened. At the end of the day I reflected on how calm I was overall. I am a strong believer in receiving God’s peace and allowing it to transform our experience. His peace is a gift that enables us to function when stress and frustration are pressuring us to shut down or to explode. You can find out more about the peace that God offers here.

Being ready enough to get to the bus also made me think about Jesus’ return. The Bible encourages us to be ready for the time when Jesus will return to take everyone who has trusted in him and followed him as their Lord and Saviour to be with him. Are we ready for this? Do you want to find out more about following Jesus or are you putting it off? If you would like to find out more about what it means to follow Jesus then get in touch.

I hope you have a great day and that you choose to receive peace from God.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Being honest about our faith, Faith, Life experiences, peace, Second coming of Jesus and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

