Squeezing God into our schedule?

You made my dayI received a really encouraging message yesterday,

I just wanted to say that I’m really enjoying reading your blog/thought for the day on Facebook. It’s very thought provoking and often challenging. I read it whilst I’m having my breakfast.
it made me think that I find it very interesting when people say they don’t have time, they’re to busy to read, to study, to pray, to pick up the phone and have a conversation or meet up face to face but still seem to find time to go on Facebook, play candy crush or xbox! I know I’ve been guilty of this at times (not play candy crush or xbox hate them!). I pray a lot when I’m driving. I do a quick bible study over breakfast I find I’m often squeezing God into my schedule, which isn’t good. He should be my priority but doing a quick bible study at breakfast and praying on my way to work is a great way to start the day and simply starting the day by giving thanks the moment we open your eyes mean he is our priority the first thing on our mind. whatever gazillion things and to do lists we have for the day. We should put him first and start with thanking him. After all you can pray any time , anywhere. I often don’t have time to do a long bible study in the morning or concentration level with distraction of kids and dog but I make time to do a quick one, read your blog and pray.

Firstly I want to thank this person publicly. It is so simple to encourage people and we all have the power to make someone’s day by doing this. Who will you encourage today?

These words reminded me of Brother Lawrence and his idea of practicing the presence of God. Basically, Brother Lawrence involved God and found God’s presence in the ordinary things of life.

Rather than assuming that God is only found in church or religious activities, we need to realize that we can find God’s presence as we wash dishes, walk the dog or as we work each day. Rather than squeezing God into our schedule, God is in the schedule as we focus on him. God is in amongst and is also surrounding everything we are doing but will we recognise and relate to him in the ordinary things of life. Having focused times when we can connect with God with fewer distractions is really important but so is finding God’s presence in every area of our lives.

Have you ever said you are too busy for God? Life is busy but we can choose to put God first and find him in all that we are doing. Lets talk with God through our day, invite him to share in our lives and ask him to lead us.

deuteronomy 31 8

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in encouragement, Faith, God is with us, Life experiences, sacred secular divide and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

