Do you believe that God is Stronger?

strongerThe child in this picture is pushing with all of his might but there is no way that he is going to move the sumo wrestler. The picture reminds me of God who the Bible describes as a rock. God cannot be moved.

I came across the picture shortly after I first heard the song ‘Stronger’ by Hillsong. When I made a PPT of images to go with the song for use in a service (see the video below) I included this picture as it combines with the song well to remind and to inspire me that God is stronger than anything else.  I believe wholeheartedly that God is all-powerful but I know that I can sometimes forget this is true for a moment when things go wrong.

Try this and you will see what I mean:

Stretch your arm out and look at your thumb. How big is it?

Now slowly move your thumb towards your face until it is right in front of your eye. How big is your thumb now?

It feels like it is suddenly much bigger but in reality it is the same size.

Our problems can be like this. When we hold them really close and we only focus on them we can’t see anything else. We may still believe that God is greater, bigger and stronger God is bigger than my problemsthan anything else but that is being blocked out by us only being able to see the problem which we are holding close.

Do we believe that God is stronger than anything else? Will we hold on to that belief and look to him even when things are going wrong? Why not take a moment to watch this video. As we watch and listen may we be inspired as we remember that God is stronger.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in creative communication, Faith, Power of God, Relationship with God and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do you believe that God is Stronger?

  1. Pingback: The God Who Opens Doors | Honest about my faith

Leave a Reply

