Do you ever lie to God? Is your hope really in him?

lie fingers crossedLast Sunday we were singing the excellent song ‘Christ in me’ in church. As I sung the line ‘my hope is built on nothing less than Jesus blood and righteousness’ I wondered if I had just lied to God?

I knew that technically I hadn’t lied because that part of the song is about our salvation and I fully acknowledge that I can’t get to God by myself and so my hope for salvation is through Jesus. The focus of other parts of service and the problems I am facing in my life caused my thoughts to turn to whether I am trusting in God for every area of life?

I do trust in God and I do pray about things and even make time to listen for his guidance. The trouble is that sometimes I don’t pray or listen to God, I try to muddle through and when that happens sometimes things go wrong. It’s okay (but not very clever) to try to cope without God as long as we don’t then blame him when things don’t work out.

foundation scaffolding funnyWould you stand on this scaffolding? It doesn’t seem the best foundation to trust in. What we are building our lives on? Is our hope in Jesus? Are we trusting in him alone? When we feel like things come crashing down it leaves us feeling crushed and devastated. When we are under pressure, it is the foundation and standard of building that makes the difference.

A lot of us say we are trusting in God but really if we are honest it is knowing we have homes, enough money, not too much stress, good family and friends, a nice holiday to look forward to etc that is keeping us going. The problem with these things is that they can be lost or taken away and so if we put our trust primarily in them making them our foundation then we are potentially in trouble. If someone moves one of the white chairs in the picture the scaffolding is going to collapse.

What are we building our lives upon? Who or what are we trusting in? Is Jesus the foundation of our lives? Is all of our hope really in him?

I trust Jesus and in reality my hope is mostly in him but my prayer is that I would trust in him more wholeheartedly each day.

If you have a few moments, listen to the song Christ is me in the Youtube link below and talk with God about these things.

foundation - what are we building our lives on

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, hope, Relationship with God, trust and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do you ever lie to God? Is your hope really in him?

  1. Pingback: The Fruit Tree That Was Left On The Shelf | Honest about my faith

Leave a Reply

