The one about the talent show

My daughter entered the school talent show. I clapped for everyone, but I really cheered for my daughter and she was the only one I took pictures and video of. If I’m honest there were better acts than hers but she is only five and those acts were older. She didn’t win, but hers is the performance that meant the most to me.

God is our father and when we live our lives and do our best he is proud. When we make mistakes he feels pain, but also overwhelming love for us. He is our father and he cares for us as any loving parent cares for their child.

Parents make allowances for their children according to their age and life experience. My daughter’s performance was excellent for a five year old. My life performance is pretty good for a human being but if I judge myself against God’s perfection then I will feel like a failure. God sees our heart and cheers for us when we try to do the right thing. I believe that the direction we are heading is more important than where we are. Are we moving towards becoming the person who God created us to be or are we moving away from becoming that person?

When Jesus (God’s son) was baptized, God expressed his pride. Jesus was baptized before he started preaching and doing miracles and God his father was proud of him before he did these things. God isn’t like Ofsted, he’s not grading us or putting us under pressure to perform, he really loves us even when we don’t perform to the right standard.

My daughter doesn’t usually lose well but while she sat there watching the other acts, she said a few times that it didn’t matter if she won because she had done her best. I was so proud of her that she could give her best and enjoy her moment without feeling like she had to win. Her self worth wasn’t dependent on her coming 1st, she knew she had done a good job. My five year old showed real maturity and wisdom in that moment and she made me really proud and happy.

My daughter sang ‘Let it go’ from Frozen. We’ve been listening to the Frozen soundtrack for the last week and I have really had enough of hearing those songs now. Although I didn’t want to hear that song sung again I loved the way that my daughter sang it. Our lives are imperfect and I don’t get all the things right that God wants for me but he loves the way I live when my heart is for him.

How do you think God feels about you? If you don’t know that he loves you, then you don’t know him at all.

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, God is our father, God loves us, Life experiences and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

