The one about gym membership

gym pictures funny

Someone offered me a free trial at their gym yesterday. In our conversation I got the impression that he was more interested in me joining his gym than he was in me becoming fit. I’ve recently lost just over 3 stone through using an exercise bike and through sensible (well mostly anyway) diet and I explained that and said I was going to continue with that as a cheaper option that is working for me. He replied instantly that I should go to his gym because their bikes have built in TV screens I explained that I had found this distracting in another gym and so I hadn’t exercised properly (read more about that here) but he still tried to persuade me to sign up.

He didn’t congratulate me on my weight loss or say anything like ‘I’m glad you have found something that works for you’. It felt like his ultimate goal was to gain new customers rather than to help people get fit in a way that was easier or convenient for them.

I wonder if Christians are ever like this? Are we more interested in getting people into our church or in helping them to follow Jesus? When someone needs a prayer because they are stressed are we willing to do just that or do we have to pressure them into feeling like they should come to us on a Sunday? One of the first questions that church leaders often ask each other when they meet is ‘how big is your church?’ I guess for most people it’s a way of beginning to describe a church but I also wonder if for some it’s a way of keeping score.

I wonder how many churches would employ Jesus if he was physically on the earth today? His agenda wasn’t to get bums on seats on a Sunday, rather he wanted people to know his heavenly father. He didn’t pander to people’s needs to get the most followers, in fact on one occasion everyone left him apart from his closest disciples  because his teaching was too challenging (John 6 v66). He hung around with people that the religious people disapproved of rather than getting the religious people on his side in order to swell the numbers of his congregation.

Jesus was more focused on God than  he was on gathering a large group.

Jesus was more interested in having genuine followers than he was in gathering a crowd.

He was more interested in loving the outcast than he was in making his supporters feel that they were more important than anyone else.

He was more interested in challenging his followers than he was in keeping them happy.

I think the way that we are being church at Orchard Baptist is great (although it is also far (and I mean really far) from perfect). I would love for more people to come to our services on a Sunday and experience God in the way we worship and communicate about Him but what I want more than this is for people to find and know God for themselves. Join Orchard Baptist and I guarantee at some point we will disappoint you because we are human and imperfect (I hope it would be after a really long time though). Following God though, asking him to live in you, to change you and to lead you through life, that is something really worth doing.

The salesman tried to sell me membership but I wanted him to care about my fitness. My prayer is that we wouldn’t make it our priority to sell Church, rather we would genuinely want people to know about and follow Jesus.

follow jesus twitter

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
Image | This entry was posted in Being honest about our faith, change, church, discipleship, Faith, God is with us, God loves us, Life experiences and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The one about gym membership

  1. Graeme, from one blogger to another, I really enjoyed reading your post and agree with you on if we would hire Jesus or not.

    I lead a men’s group and at first there was talk about growing it so it would be huge. I knew better. If Jesus only had twelve, then I knew He wasn’t concerned with numbers, but He was concerned in taking the time with each of them.

    Churches today measure too much on the number of attendants and not enough on what they should be doing: ministering to one another and loving each other through their lives. I go to one of the biggest churches in the world, and the one thing we have learned is to do life with one another.

    But if a church consist of only a handful of people, God is there with them. It’s funny, but we think if more people are present it has a bigger impact, but Jesus always stopped what He was doing to focus on one person….there are many instances in the Bible where He did that. Sure, He spoke to big crowds, but He never walked away and said, “Did you see how many people we reached in one setting?” He knew better.

    Great post. I will be following your blog. May God bless you today and Happy Father’s Day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • graemeross4 says:

      Thanks for your encouragement. I had noticed we got more excited about large numbers at events even though that meant we spent less time talking with people. We now often celebrate more when we have less people at activities. Jesus loves people more than projects, I hope we can too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

