The one with the chocolate gorilla

Today I am driving to Oxford for a meeting with some missionaries who we support as a part of our wider church family. I am meeting with them and representatives of the organisation they work with to talk about their recent work and their plans for the future. I’m really looking forward to the opportunity to meet with and encourage them about the excellent work they are doing.

Part of my work involves comforting people who are mourning and taking funeral services. During funerals, we hear about things that were good about a person and anyone giving a eulogy will often talk about how much their loved one meant to them. Every time I go to a funeral I come away determined to make more effort to tell people what they mean to me on a regular basis. We may have people who mean a lot to us but do we take the time to let them know?

chocolate shapeI still remember the day my friend Claire gave me a chocolate gorilla. She knew I was discouraged and she knew I liked chocolate. I don’t know why she chose chocolate in the shape of a gorilla, but it did make me smile. This was several years ago now, but I still tell people about it. Her act of kindness still means a lot to me.

How about you. Who can you encourage today? A phone call, text or e-mail can convey a simple message, but why not go the extra mile? Take some time to write a longer message or card, give someone your time to help them with what they are doing, buy some flowers, pray for someone and tell them. Think about the person you want to encourage. What do they enjoy and what would really bless them? When we encourage someone, we build them up. Go ahead, make someone’s day.

 

 

 

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in encouragement, Faith, happiness, Life experiences, Loving one another, working together and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The one with the chocolate gorilla

  1. Pingback: Nothing happened? | Honest about my faith

Leave a Reply

