The one where my daughter was brave

DSCF8386Yesterdays blog finished with a picture and Bible verses about God lifting us out of the mud and giving us a solid place to stand. I wanted a picture as a background for the verses but couldn’t find what I wanted online, so my daughter and I set off for our local woods with a camera.

We followed a stream and waded around through a lot of mud. Several times, my daughter asked for help and at other times I held her hand anyway as I could see she was struggling. She decided she wanted to cross the stream at every opportunity and in the picture you can see her inching her way across a fallen tree. She was desperate for me to hold her hand as she walked across, but with my lack of balance I wasn’t going to be any help. She inched across the tree saying ‘be brave’, ‘be brave’. At times before letting go of a branch she would say ‘am I balanced?’ to check she was okay. I was so proud of how brave she was and that she accomplished something she was afraid of doing.

As I have said in other blogs, my daughters behaviour can be challenging but on this particular afternoon we had a lovely time. I loved the way we walked and chatted. I loved the way she delighted in such simple things. I loved the way she asked for help. I loved the way she made eye contact with and smiled at me (attachment has been something my beautiful girl has struggled with).

The Bible says that God is our Father and that he will never leave us or forsake us (Deutereonomy 31.6). I believe that he enjoys walking through life with us. He loves it when we ask for help and his helping hand is always stretched towards us. He loves it when we talk to him, telling him how we are feeling. He loves it when we take delight in life. He loves it when we feel attached to him. He is proud when we keep going when life feels tough.

As we wander through life, whether it’s like a stroll in the sunshine, wading through mud or even like walking across a high up tree trunk I pray that we would know that God is with us and that we would choose to include him more in our lives.

deuteronomy 31.6

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
Image | This entry was posted in Faith, God is with us, God loves us, happiness, Holy Spirit, Life experiences, parenting, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

