Will England win the world cup? Mission Impossible? The difference between hoping and confidence

daniel sturridge goal celebration

The world cup is fast approaching. England played last night and whilst they won 3-0 they weren’t playing the best opposition in the world, their victory does give us some hope. I don’t think that many (or any?) people expect England to win the world cup, but there are many who are hoping that they do or at least that they do well.

In this video clip from the film ‘Mission Impossible – Ghost Protocol ‘Benji is saying I will catch you but  William isn’t so sure it is all going to work out. Later in the film when he actually jumps you can see the uncertainty on Williams face, he hopes he will be caught, but he isn’t confident.

Do we feel this way about God? Do we hope that he will catch us or do we know that he will? To be honest there are times when I feel both. Sometimes I pray without doubt and other times I feel more like England supporters do before a match (or penalty shoot out) as I come to prayer, hopeful of a result but planning ahead in case it doesn’t work. I know that God doesn’t change but my circumstances and experiences do change. I think that often I lack faith because I send up lots of ‘hit and hope’ prayers. I tell God what I want and then feel disappointed that he hasn’t done it. I’m trying more and more in my prayer life to listen to God and seek him for what he wants ‘your kingdom come, your will be done on earth as it is in heaven’.

Psalm 37.23-24 - the lord holds us by the handI love the verse in psalm 37.24 which reminds us that even when we stumble, we don’t fall because the Lord holds us by the hand. I believe that God does catch us in the sense that he is constantly holding and supporting us as we travel through life.

As the conversation in the video clip develops William realises that his jump involves a 25ft drop and that it will be very hot. He nervously says ‘So I’m jumping into an oven’, ‘yeah’ Benj replies, ‘but I’ll catch you’. The way he says it is so casual and to me what he is really saying is ‘why would you not believe that I will catch you?’

My life sometimes feels like I’m jumping into an oven but the stress and pain don’t matter nearly so much as knowing that I have a heavenly father who is with us. Often when things feel like they are falling apart and I am tearing my hair out it is because I am trying to cope rather than relying on the God who will hold and support me.

The Bible says that ‘Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen‘ (Hebrews 11.1). I don’t want to hope that God will catch and sustain me, I want to grow in my confidence of him to the point of knowing that he will.

Will England win the world cup? I hope so!!!! Will God always be there supporting and helping me through life? I hope so Yes I am confident he will be!!!!!

The video clip and thoughts are another example of the sort of creative communication that we begin our services with at Orchard Baptist Church.

Hebrews 11.1 faith

 

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
Video | This entry was posted in creative communication, doubt, Faith, film, God is with us, God loves us, hope, Prayer, trust and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

