The one where I realize that I am not God’s special advisor

bossy do what you are toldI believe in prayer. I believe that prayer is about talking to God and that it doesn’t have to be religious or about using long words. I pray to God about a lot of things and have seen amazing answers to prayer and also had dome disappointments when what I asked for didn’t happen. Then I heard the words that changed my perspective forever ‘When we pray we need to realize that we are not God’s special advisors‘. I heard Joel Edwards say this on 2 or 3 occasions over 10 years ago now but those words haven’t left me.

When we pray we often want to tell God what to do. It’s a bit like a toddler advising their parents how to plan for their financial future The toddler thinks they are clever because they have lived some but really the subject matter and it’s answer are way outside their expertise. If God knows everything and is all powerful, what makes us think that he should take our advice? Perhaps we should take his.

Recently there have been some terrible stories in the news and I’m glad I don’t have to advise God because I have no clue what the answers are. I can come to God and talk about I am feeling (the Bible calls it pouring out your heart) and then I can listen and be open to receive from Him, perhaps peace, guidance etc (when you pour something out you make space for something else to fill it!)

So when you pray, tell God how you are feeling and then take time to listen. Don’t be frustrated that there is someone in the universe more powerful than you. Let him be your special advisor.

psalm 62.8 - pour out your hearts

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in Faith, Prayer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The one where I realize that I am not God’s special advisor

  1. Pingback: Ryder Cup foursomes, partnership and working together | Honest about my faith

Leave a Reply

