The one where Taro and Sarah say something nice

ImageI arrived at our toddler group this morning and was asked by Taro who the difficult person in my Church was. I looked confused (actually most of the time I probably look that way!) and so Sarah said she was surprised that I had let people know on facebook that I had a difficult person in my church. I began to panic thinking that my facebook had been hacked, but they then told me that they were talking about my recent blog An imaginary letter from a 1st Century Pharisee.

They were joking of course (I think they were fairly normal before they met me!) and they knew it wasn’t about me and my church, but then they said words to the effect of: ‘We knew it wasn’t about you because you are not the sort of person who would treat people that way’. I want to say to Sarah and Taro, thank you, you made my day.

Our words have such power, we can build up and encourage people or tear them down. I came across a video of an interview with Harry Styles from One Direction (I’ve posted a link to it below). He talks very honestly about how words have hurt him and then he says ‘I’ve always wanted to be one of those people who didn’t really care that much about what people thought about them …. But I just don’t think I am‘. You have this young man who has been incredibly successful who is in pieces because of unkind words. So, lets think about how we use words. Is there something unkind we have said that we need to apologise for? Will we try and avoid speaking negatively about people? What kind thing can we say to encourage someone today?

 

 

 

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
This entry was posted in encouragement, Faith, Life experiences, words hurt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The one where Taro and Sarah say something nice

  1. ilove1d2000 says:

    Thank you for addressing this, it makes me so mad when people say these things whether they know their hurting someone or not. And thanks for the video, had not seen it, made me cry.

    Like

    • graemeross4 says:

      Definitely a moving video. I played it in a recent school assembly and talked around how negative words can make us feel rubbish about ourselves. Hoping and praying that this world becomes a kinder and better place.

      Like

  2. Pingback: The great escape that was a mistake | Honest about my faith

Leave a Reply

