Peace at last?

Peace - where is Gods peace found

Some of these pictures look more peaceful than others, but in which of them is the peace of God found?

The Bible says that ‘God’s peace exceeds anything we can understand’ (Philippians 4.7) so why would we assume that his peace isn’t in every picture. His peace can be received as a gift, even in the most stressful situation. When Jesus said to his disciples ‘my peace I give to you’ it was shortly before he was arrested. He gives them a gift of peace as they faced the biggest challenge and stress of their lives, but did they receive it?

Philippians 4 goes on to say that ‘his peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus’ and when I read this, an image of a  nightclub bouncer comes to mind. We feel stress and anxiety at times but will we also receive God’s peace as a gift and let it guard our hearts and minds as it says to the anxiety ‘your name’s not down so you’re not coming in’.

Next time you are stressed, pray: ‘Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus’. (Philippians 4 v6-7)

peace - phil 4.7

 

 

 

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
Image | This entry was posted in Faith, peace and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Peace at last?

  1. Pingback: The one about missing the bus | Honest about my faith

  2. Pingback: Jesus Surprised me but I didn’t realize it | Honest about my faith

  3. Reblogged this on Honest about my faith and commented:

    Does life feel stressful?

    Like

  4. Pingback: Celebrations, Disappointments and Stress are all a Part of our Journey through Life | Honest about my faith

  5. Pingback: The one about the Ofsted Inspection | Honest about my faith

  6. Pingback: God Carries the Anxieties of the World | Honest about my faith

Leave a Reply

