An imaginary letter from a 1st Century Pharisee

I’ve been leading my congregation a long time and have a lot of people coming to worship. God has been good to me and I am grateful for the way that I am able to teach so many people about God and his ways. It continues to surprise me how much God’s thinking is similar to my own and I am blessed to be so in tune with God. I have been leading my flock for a long time and enjoying it but recently a young man has started coming to my meetings and he is really irritating me because he is talking about new things and is challenging how I view God and lead the people in worship. Doesn’t he realize that God doesn’t change, so surely the way we follow, worship and teach about him doesn’t change either!!! Can I ask you all to pray with me for this young man Jesus that he would come to recognize my superior experience and wisdom. If he can learn to be more like me then his ministry will surely be more fruitful. Hoping that we can all realize together that God doesn’t want us to change.

One of the things that makes me sad is the way that Christians can be against change. I wrote this imaginary letter to encourage people to consider whether this is a good or right attitude but as I was writing I wondered how open to change I am? Those of you who know me well will be surprised I’ve asked this as I am constantly open new things and approaches in the way I lead the Church, but just because we are open to change in one way doesn’t mean we are open to it in every way.

Are we open to God showing us we’re wrong or do we believe we are always right about everything?


Image

About honestaboutmyfaith

Hi, my name is Graeme and I’m married to a very patient wife. We have 4 children, 2 rabbits, a terrapin (and not a lot of peace and quiet!). I’m a Baptist Minister who is especially interested in making Church accessible to people who have no church background and also in how we disciple people in order to equip them to live out their faith in the 21st Century. I am also a member of the Eastern Baptist Association's Council with responsibility for Mission Strategy.
Image | This entry was posted in change, Faith, humility and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An imaginary letter from a 1st Century Pharisee

  1. Pingback: The one where Taro and Sarah say something nice | Honesty about my faith

  2. Pingback: Don’t give up! | Honest about my faith

  3. Pingback: The Numerous Health and Safety Breaches in the Crossing of the Jordan River | Honest about my faith

Leave a Reply

